Episode IV: Think Before You Swipe

Hello Again My Phatties!

The Cheyenne Hour is now back from an unannounced mid-season break (aka ya girl has been dealing with adulting, work and school and was too busy to blog), but now that I’m back I can finally post a new episode.  I have other episodes that are currently under construction.  However I decided to post this one because it’s the most current and the most relevant.  That being said, this one goes out to the thirsty college kids who get their refund check and are a little too swipe or insert (yes, the chip card reader is alive and well at a Target, Walmart and select Walgreens locations near you and the list is expanding) happy.  Leonardo-DiCaprio-Money-Meme

(I see y’all flexing at Chipotle during refund season)

There is no tea or shade from this, y’all.  Please know that I, too, was in the impulsive spender group, and I learned today why I shouldn’t do that.  Let me just discuss my mini ordeal I had today and might have in the future.

When I received my first refund check (well, my tax refund, rather) in the summer before the Fall 2015 semester, I decided to get my nose pierced because I always had envisioned myself with a nose hoop.  I had an appointment scheduled At X Piercing Parlor (again I will always omit the real names of these establishments and employees) and brought a friend along for moral support.  When I first was selecting my jewelry for my ring I asked the piercer, Henry, what nostril I should pierce and he quickly responds with “the right or the left”

Okay-Waka-Flocka-Meme-04 I honestly should have left after that comment.  However, my ass was too thirsty for this piercing to back down and decided to go with it anyway.

First and foremost this man was a jerk.  I’m not the best when it comes to pain, and being that this man has been piercing for half my age, I thought that he would be very empathetic with how squeamish and worried I was.  WRONG.  My dude was every bit of detached.  Henry didn’t really explain anything about the process, and he was eager to finish it quickly so he could attend to his other victims, erm, clients.  When my piercing was finally done, I was bleeding quite a bit and was freaking out because of it.  I asked him if this were normal, which I later realized it was, and he said yes and handed some gauze to me.  Right after he directed me to the cash register.

Fast-forward to Spring 2016, I decided to change my nose ring for the first time and get a hoop.  I was so excited about this that I went into Y Tattoo and Piercing Studio to purchase my hoop and get it swapped out. First and foremost my experience from the door was awesome. The receptionist was friendly and the individual who did my swap out, Dee, was more than friendly, patient and informative.  I learned so much about the piercing process today than I ever did with Henry.

For example, when Dee was trying to take out my first nose ring, which was a cork screw stud, he explained to me that whatever Henry did when piercing it he pierced me too close to my nostril bone and that will always cause some level of discomfort when I’m trying to change my jewelry. Also, the jewelry that Henry used to pierce me was a gauge smaller than normal nose rings (I was initially pierced with a 20mm gauge and the ring I’m wearing now is an 18mm which is a bigger and most common size). This being said, I had to get my nose hole stretched  to fit a regular size, and hunties that pain was no damn joke! From now on, and at any healing stage of my piercing I will always have some level of discomfort, and I’ve also decided to go get help to swap my piercings out because we’ve discovered that my piercing hole automatically starts to close up.

My new ring looks beautiful, but looking back on my experience as a whole I learned these things:

1. Don’t be so damn thirsty to swipe your card before fully reading into things, especially if it pertains to your body.

As college students you have to learn when you’re getting bullshitted and when you’re not. Some establishments get away with things because they figure that you’re young and dumb and don’t care or won’t care enough to fully research what you’re getting done. Now looking back, Henry did not explain the gauging system to me, nor did he really discuss aftercare in thorough detail. He gave me a pamphlet and basically asked me to pay.  On the other hand, Dee explained to me and showed me how to remove my cork screw and he also explained how the hoop worked as well. Because of him, my cleaning regimen makes more sense and is now easier to follow.

2. Don’t always seek one opinion when doing things.

This one is self-explanatory. However, it’s good to shop around before getting any piercing, tattoo or body art. You have to find the artist that works best for you and is sensitive to your worries, questions, etc.

3. Don’t allow people to trick you into buying extra shit.

Henry told me that buying a titanium-backed stud would be “the best” for my skin. However, I discussed this with Dee and he put in a surgical steel hoop for me, which hasn’t caused my skin to react at all. I learned that these are both neck and neck in terms of how hypoallergenic they are. However, it just so happens that the titanium costed twice as much as m surgical steel hoop. Again, it’s all about doing research and knowing what you’re buying.

At the end of the day, remember that just because you have money does not mean you have to go and spend it frivolously. Tattoos and piercings are wonderful world of are that can really look poppin on you. However, it’s crucial that you understand the responsibility and work that comes with it and also know the processes that are involved in these things. Never be afraid to ask questions because it’s your money, time and body, and these are all things that are non-refundable.

Here’s a pic of me with my new nose ring. Needless to say I’m obsessed AF with it.

Thank you, Phatties, for reading my post. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

